May’s music muses

by Iris Lim

2023 has no doubt been a strong year in terms of new music. April introduced several new hits to the music scene: widely anticipated albums including Waterparks’ “INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY,” NF’s “HOPE” and Daniel Caesar’s “NEVER ENOUGH”, as well as fresh new singles like Post Malone’s “Chemical,” Joey Bada$$’s “Fallin'” and The Weeknd’s “Double Fantasy” featuring Future.

April also featured Morgan Wallen, NF and Melanie Martinez climbing the Billboard 200 alongside the longstanding legacies of Taylor Swift and SZA. As for the top songs of the month, Morgan Wallen’s “Last Night” and Drake’s “Search and Rescue” dominated the Billboard Hot 100 beside the proven chart champions: “Flowers” by Miley Cyrus, “Kill Bill” by SZA and “Creepin'” by Metro Boomin featuring The Weeknd and 21 Savage.

Moving into May, the series of successful releases doesn’t appear to be slowing down anytime soon. Here are a few upcoming album releases to keep an eye — or rather, ear — out for in the month of May.

“- (Subtract)” by Ed Sheeran

Set to come out on May 5, “Subtract” is Ed Sheeran’s fifth and final release in his series of arithmetically-titled albums. Compared to his previous songs, the ones in his upcoming album are described to be much more personal, offering some insight into Sheeran’s personal experiences and emotions.

“The Album” by Jonas Brothers

The Jonas Brothers’ sixth album, simply titled “The Album,” will be released on May 12. The band has already unveiled two singles from “The Album”, “Wings” and “Waffle House,” and the album overall is said to have been influenced by ’70s-style music.

“Kaytraminé” by Kaytraminé

Kaytranada and Aminé recently joined forces as a duo, aptly naming both themselves and their upcoming album “Kaytraminé”. During April, the team released their first collaborative single “4EVA” featuring Pharrell Williams. The duo’s highly anticipated debut album will come out on May 12.

“Broken by Desire To Be Heavenly Sent” by Lewis Capaldi

Lewis Capaldi’s second album, “Broken by Desire To Be Heavenly Sent” is set to release on May 19. Following the success of his first album, “Divinely Uninspired to a Hellish Extent,” Capaldi has stated that his songs will continue to explore the themes of love, loss and emotional turmoil that many listeners have connected with. The album’s release has been promoted with the announcement of a 2023 world tour, a Netflix documentary entitled “Lewis Capaldi: How I’m Feeling Now” and four singles: “Forget Me,” “Pointless,” “How I’m Feeling Now” and “Wish You the Best.”

You may also like